Walkers Acts on Financing of 5 Churchill Place Acquisition

Walkers London has acted as BVI law counsel on two fronts in relation to the financing of Cheung Kei Group's acquisition of 5 Churchill Place in London's Canary Wharf, with Taylors in association with Walkers ("Taylors") acting as Bermuda law counsel on one front.

Partner, Neil McDonald, led the Walkers London team which acted as BVI law counsel to the senior lender, Lloyds Bank plc, on the secured debt facility utilised to finance the acquisition of this prime London commercial real estate, and was assisted by Senior Associate, Catherine Overton, and Associate, Dina Anastas.

In addition, Taylors acted as Bermuda law counsel to Lloyds, with partner, Jonathan Betts, leading the team with assistance from Associate, Rachel Nightingale.

Concurrently Managing Partner, Jack Boldarin, led the separate Walkers London team that advised the mezzanine lender on the BVI law aspects of the transaction, and was assisted by Senior Counsel, Mark Galazzi, and Associate, Emma Giannini.

The Walkers’ teams were instructed by Dentons and by Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner, respectively. Addleshaw Goddard acted for Cheung Kei Group.

5 Churchill Place was acquired by Cheung Kei Group from Saïd Holdings and comprises circa 319,000 square feet (29,600 square metres) arranged over 12 floors. JP Morgan is the lead tenant, renting ten of the building’s twelve floors, and Time Inc., American Express, Cision Gorkana and Balfour Beatty also have offices in the building.

BERMUDA
Jonathan BettsPartnerT +1 441 242 1511jonathan.betts@walkersglobal.com
Rachel NightingaleAssociateT +1 441 242 1520rachel.nightingale@walkersglobal.com

LONDON
Jack BoldarinManaging PartnerT +44 (0)20 7220 4995jack.boldarin@walkersglobal.com
Neil McDonaldPartnerT +44 (0)20 7220 4990neil.mcdonald@walkersglobal.com
Mark GalazziSenior CounselT +44 (0)20 7220 4972mark.galazzi@walkersglobal.com
Catherine OvertonSenior AssociateT +44 (0)20 7220 4984catherine.overton@walkersglobal.com
Dina AnastasAssociateT +44 (0)20 7220 4992dina.anastas@walkersglobal.com
Emma GianniniAssociateT +44 (0)20 7220 4986emma.giannini@walkersglobal.com