Guernsey Practices Leap Up the Rankings in Legal 500 UK

Four of Walkers' legal teams in Guernsey have been promoted up the ranks by the latest edition of the Legal 500 directory, which has also recognised four of the firm's Guernsey partners as "Leading Individuals" in their areas of practice.

The directory has named partners Sam Shires, Alison Ozanne, Louise Hall and Kate Storey as Leading Individuals – meaning that the firm has lawyers in the very top tier across Banking & Finance, Insolvency & Dispute Resolution, Employment and Insurance practice groups.

Promotions up the rankings tiers for the Banking & Finance, Corporate, Insurance and Private Capital and Trusts teams round off an impressive review in the directory after two years of heavy recruitment and growth in the team, which has seen the arrivals of partners Rajah Abusrewil, Rupert Morris and Kate Storey.

The number of lawyers in the firm's Guernsey office has increased by more than 50% in the last year as part of a growth strategy across the Channel Islands which has also seen several arrivals in the Jersey office as the firm – which already has the largest number of lawyers of any offshore firm globally – builds out its Jersey and Guernsey law capability.

Fraser Hern, a Group Partner and Head of Walkers in the Channel Islands, said: "Our recruitment and growth in the Channel Islands is motivated by our confidence in the quality of our team here and our confidence in the jurisdiction itself.

"This recognition for some of our key leaders reflects their ability and experience – and it also reflects the skill and hard work of the teams that they lead."

In all, 11 Walkers lawyers are recognised by the latest edition of the directory, including partners Sarah Brehaut and Rupert Morris named as "Next Generation Partner" and senior counsel Sarah Ash, Stephen Ozanne and Kim Paiva are listed as "Rising Star".

Louise Hall, the managing partner of the Guernsey office, said: "To see four of our teams climb the rankings tables reflects not just the work of our leadership team but also the work of our bench of senior counsel and associates. We have an incredibly talented and dedicated team of lawyers, who can all feel rightly proud of the firm's success today."

GUERNSEY
Louise HallManaging PartnerT +44 (0)1 481 748909louise.hall@walkersglobal.com
Sarah BrehautPartnerT +44 (0)1481 748 930sarah.brehaut@walkersglobal.com
Rupert MorrisPartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 936rupert.morris@walkersglobal.com
Alison OzannePartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 905alison.ozanne@walkersglobal.com
Sam ShiresPartnerT +44 (0)1481 748 916sam.shires@walkersglobal.com
Kate StoreyPartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 924kate.storey@walkersglobal.com
Matt SandersGroup Partner*T +44 (0) 1481 748 914matt.sanders@walkersglobal.com
Sarah AshSenior CounselT +44 (0) 1481 748 935sarah.ash@walkersglobal.com
Zoë HallamSenior CounselT +44 (0)1481 748 920zoe.hallam@walkersglobal.com
Stephen OzanneSenior CounselT +44 (0)1 481 748 913stephen.ozanne@walkersglobal.com
Kim PaivaSenior CounselT +44 (0)1481 748 906kim.paiva@walkersglobal.com