Walkers Celebrating Success of Its Inaugural Business Summer School for Jersey Students

Walkers' inaugural Jersey Business Summer School has been hailed as a great success by the 35 sixth form students who attended.
 
Following the success of the event in Guernsey last year, Walkers offered sixth form students in Jersey the chance to gain a real insight into the world of work whether in financial services, other important local industries, or as an entrepreneur, in a week-long Business School last week at St Helier Town Hall.

There were lively interactive sessions including a mock Board meeting and a Moot before former Bailiff Sir Michael Birt QC.

The programme had interesting and informative contributions from representatives of Hawksford, Investec, the Jersey Financial Services Commission, Ocorian, PwC and Vistra, as well as from London law firm - XXIV Old Buildings.

Entrepreneur James Matthewson from Pizza Box Jersey described his life as a successful entrepreneur, all ably supported by members at all levels of Walkers' legal practice groups.

The head of Walkers' Guernsey Insolvency & Dispute Resolution team, Alison Ozanne, led the programme with the help of Channel Islands HR Director, Sarah Forbes. Chris Reed, James Turnbull, Ruth Donnellan, Ellen Jarvis, Alex Schluep, Claire Barbesol, Craig Macleod, Jenny Brunton, Maria Carolan, Rebecca Lever, Katherine Jensen, Laurent Thibeault, Ben Queree and Tina Waring from Walkers also supported.

Alison said: "The feedback that we have had from the students who joined us last week has been fantastic – we are delighted with how the event went, and more importantly, that the attendees felt that they got some real insight from the event and speakers.

"Feedback from the guest speakers has also been excellent, and reflects that the students were engaged, switched-on and had plenty of questions to ask.

Sarah added: "We are really pleased that the event has been successful, and we are looking forward to repeating it."

The firm has offices in ten jurisdictions worldwide and employs more lawyers than any other offshore firm. Walkers has 15 partners in its Jersey office leading teams specialising in Insolvency & Dispute Resolution, Investment Funds & Corporate, Insurance, Banking & Finance, Private Capital & Trusts and Employment.

GUERNSEY
Alison OzannePartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 905alison.ozanne@walkersglobal.com
Laurent ThibeaultSenior CounselT +44 (0) 1481 748 919laurent.thibeault@walkersglobal.com

JERSEY
Christopher ReedGroup Partner*T +44 (0) 1534 700 825christopher.reed@walkersglobal.com
James TurnbullSenior CounselT +44 (0)1534 700 776james.turnbull@walkersglobal.com
Ruth DonnellanSenior AssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 719ruth.donnellan@walkersglobal.com
Ellen JarvisSenior AssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 827ellen.jarvis@walkersglobal.com
Alex SchluepSenior AssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 735Alex.Schluep@walkersglobal.com
Claire BarbesolAssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 899claire.barbesol@walkersglobal.com
Jenny BruntonAssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 766Jenny.Brunton@walkersglobal.com
Maria CarolanAssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 885Maria.Carolan@walkersglobal.com
Rebecca LeverAssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 732rebecca.lever@walkersglobal.com
Craig MacleodAssociateT +44 (0) 1534 700 756craig.macleod@walkersglobal.com

LONDON
Katherine JensenAssociateT +44 (0) 20 7903 8710katherine.jensen@walkersglobal.com

Related Content