Students Enjoy a Week in Financial Services with Walkers Business Summer School

Walkers' Guernsey Business Summer School has once again been hailed as a great success by the 35 sixth form students who attended.

Following the success of the event last year, Walkers has again offered sixth form students in Guernsey the chance to gain a real insight into the world of work whether in financial services, other important local industries, or as an entrepreneur, in a week-long Business School last week at St James.

There were lively interactive sessions including a mock Board meeting and a Moot before Lieutenant Bailiff Hazel Marshall QC.

The programme had interesting and informative contributions from representatives of Butterfield, the Guernsey Financial Services Commission, Hassium Private Wealth, IQEQ, PWC and Sequent, as well as from London Barristers' Chambers XXIV Old Buildings.

Entrepreneur Mark Whitman from Contentellect, Mountain IQ, KeyClusters, SerpsBot and Bluedot Ventures described his life as a successful entrepreneur, all ably supported by members at all levels of Walkers' legal practice groups.

The head of Walkers' Guernsey Insolvency & Dispute Resolution team, Alison Ozanne, led the programme with the support of partners, associates and business support staff from Walkers including Sarah Ash, Adam Cole, Jamie Bookless, Helena Lavin, Laurent Thibeault, Jarrad Knoetze, Kathryn Macken, Angela Proctor, Joseph Truelove, Ben Queree, Scott Guilbert and Rachel Gilliland.

Alison said: "We are  delighted that the event has again been so successful. One student who could only attend virtually last year due to covid is our first repeat attendee and she told me she enjoyed it even more in person this time. We are already looking forward to repeating it for a third time next year.

"The feedback that we have had from the students and the guest speakers who joined us last week has been that it was 'inspirational' and 'fantastic' which reflects that the students were very engaged and switched-on."

Alison also ran Walkers' Business Summer School in Jersey for the first time the week before Guernsey which 35 local students attended.

The firm has offices in ten jurisdictions worldwide and employs more lawyers than any other offshore firm. Walkers has ten partners in its Guernsey office leading teams specialising in Insolvency & Dispute Resolution, Investment Funds & Corporate, Insurance, Banking & Finance, Private Capital & Trusts and Employment.

GUERNSEY
Adam ColePartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 912adam.cole@walkersglobal.com
Alison OzannePartnerT +44 (0) 1481 748 905alison.ozanne@walkersglobal.com
Sarah AshGroup Partner*T +44 (0) 1481 748 935sarah.ash@walkersglobal.com
Jamie BooklessSenior CounselT +44 1481 748 926jamie.bookless@walkersglobal.com
Helena LavinSenior CounselT +44 (0) 1481 748 948helena.lavin@walkersglobal.com
Laurent ThibeaultSenior CounselT +44 (0) 1481 748 919laurent.thibeault@walkersglobal.com
Jarrad KnoetzeAssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 944Jarrad.Knoetze@walkersglobal.com
Kathryn MackenAssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 934kathryn.macken@walkersglobal.com
Angela ProctorAssociateT +44 (0) 1481 748 903angela.proctor@walkersglobal.com
Joseph TrueloveParalegalT +44 (0) 1481 758953Joseph.Truelove@walkersglobal.com